Skip to main content

Flight of the Earls

Title:  Flight of the Earls:  An Heirs of Ireland Novel
Author:  Michael K. Reynolds
Pages:  352
Year:  2013
Publisher:  B & H Books
                There is so much we can learn from history, whether it is about one nation, people or even an event.  I love historical fiction because of the vast unearthed treasures that come to be known through this genre.  Michael K. Reynolds shares at the end of his work some of the books he read about his subject, the Irish Americans during a specific era.  Another aspect depicted is the faith of the characters and how within their lives, faith becomes personal after starting out as being generational.
The reader will follow Clare as she travels through her life’s events to discover just how deep God’s love really is for her.  When she suffers setbacks and tragedies, Clare wants to rise above her poverty and oppression without God.  Yet, God is using her experiences to reveal who He really is. Through it all, Clare begins to understand the words her grandmother spoke to her so long ago.
Clare’s da is a harsh man who loves the bottle more than his family, especially after the loss of a child.  That is not the only heartache da is going through.  Through it all, Clare is left to carry the burden of her siblings and ma.  Clare is sent quite unexpectantly to America in hopes that her fortune will in turn become the family’s fortune.  Leaving for America with one brother and a close friend, life becomes even more lonesome and frustrating before they even board the ship.  When the three arrive in America, they find that what they left in Ireland is also what awaits them on American soil.
Clare, her brother Seamus and friend Pierce are led to a home in the ground along with several other survivors of the sea crossing.  Before leaving Ireland, Clare was given a necklace that begins a journey none of them could have foreseen.  The two young men have dreams of being rich and having an abundant lifestyle where they no longer would have to scratch out a living.  Clare wants to get a “legal” job and send the money home to the family members who so desperately need it, especially due to the inability to grow their main crop in Ireland.  What starts out with such hope in their endeavors becomes a course in learning a multitude of truths regarding other family members, including the “real” profession one uncle is exposed to have along with his other folly.
Flight of the Earls is the first novel of the Heirs of Ireland series for Michael K. Reynolds and let me say this is one series of stories to read!  With a sequel already set to be released in the summer of 2013, you will want to start with this book while you wait.  It is entertaining, thought-provoking, and will grip the heart.  You won’t want to put it down until you read the last page.  The scenes are so easy to picture in your mind because of the well-written descriptions.  The characters lives are surely representative of real people who lived in the mid-1800s thru the present.  I can’t say enough about it; I am hooked on this series and this author!
My rating is 5+ stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…