Skip to main content

Harvest of Rubies

Title:  Harvest of Rubies
Author:  Tessa Afshar
Pages:  342
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Moody Publishers
                This is a wonderful story set in ancient Persia during the time of King Artaxerxes and after Queen Esther’s time.  This is my first novel by this author and it won’t be the last!  Another novel, Harvest of Gold, continues the story begun in this novel and will be reviewed here soon.
                Sarah is a young woman who can do something most other women of her time can’t…read and write.  She began teaching herself Persian at the age of 9 to earn her father’s love and attention as he is a scribe in the royal palace.  Sarah makes this her goal in life too.  She achieves her goal, but isn’t fond of the politics that go on in the palace.  She solves a mystery for the queen and as a reward gets a husband.  At the age of 23, Sarah is doing what she wants in life and doesn’t want a husband, aristocrat or not.  Once married, she will have to give up her dream.  She tries everything to get out of the marriage, but to no avail.  She knows she will be miserable in this marriage as she doesn’t know how to cook, take care of a household and she certainly isn’t pretty.  What is she going to do with her time now?
                Darius has been forced to marry a commoner and isn’t happy about it.  He promised his Jewish mother that he would marry a Jewish woman and he has kept that promise, but he isn’t giving his new wife any benefit of the doubt after the stunt she pulled at their wedding ceremony.  He catches glimpses of her true character, but he is reluctant to trust her.  What is she up to?  Can Darius learn to fully trust his wife?  He finally returns home to a mess, but solves it with Sarah’s help.  He slowly begins to spend more time with her and learns more about her.  She seems trustworthy, funny, loyal and spirited.  Is this just an act?
                Readers see Sarah’s insecurities and her efforts to banish those insecurities through finding her worth in what she does and what people think of her.  I can certainly identify with that.  Can you?  The wonderful wise gardener, Bardia, whom Sarah comes to love like a father tells her that pruning the vine is for its’ own good and done to enrich its’ yield.  Sarah suddenly sees the parallel of the vine with her own life.  It is at this point that she begins to see how God is using the difficulties in her life not to punish her, but to make her life better.  She learns to pray to Him regularly and often and be content in her circumstance.  I just loved Sarah, her witty sarcasm and the snappy dialogue between characters.  Sarah’s growth in faith is inspiring and at the same time challenging.  I can definitely recommend this book without reservation.  It is entertaining from beginning to end.  Readers won’t be disappointed.
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…