Skip to main content

Johnstone's: FIrebase Freedom

Title:  Firebase Freedom (Phoenix Rising Book #2)
Author:  William W. Johnstone & J. A. Johnstone
Pages:  340
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Kensington
My review of the first book in this series is posted at
The third installment to this series will be released later this year, and I cannot wait.  There is an uncanny way the theme in this work of fiction almost mirrors society today.  However, remember when you read this, that this is fiction.  Sometimes authors can get their story ideas from reality, experience or research.  I know many authors who are avid readers themselves on a variety of topics as well as readers of fiction.  Regardless of one’s political allegiance most people have in their heart the desire to see America become a great nation.
In this second installment, the story started in Phoenix Rising begins to expand the scope of events initially brought about when America is deemed a free nation no more.  A president who has radical views begins to slowly strip away all forms of government, suicide bombers take millions of lives and women lose all sense of being a human being.  Jake, being a former soldier, has gathered together in a fort people who are specialists in various fields of expertise.  Since this small group refuses to submit to the new regime and convert to Islam, they cannot buy basic needs.  In fact, their lives are in peril.  Not only this small group, but any who are found to not have a special ID card and following the ways of Ohmshidi’s form of dictatorship.  Is this man acting alone or under the orders of an Imam?
Children are taken away to new schools and separated by gender to be properly taught or indoctrinated according to Islam.  All forms of sports are banned.  Women must wear a certain covering otherwise they are considered guilty.  What are they guilty of and what is the penalty?  Jake’s friend Bob drafts a new Declaration of Independence and is elected the first President.  Many are coming together under the battle cry of “take back America.”
The novel has many characters that show the true heart of Americans who selflessly begin to act in ways contrary to the dictator’s orders.  There is violence, injustice, and swift executions being carried out immediately.  There is no due process of law and no presumption of innocence.  When I read the first novel in this series, it was so filled with suspense I had to remind myself to breathe.  Now, in this novel, there is a growing undercurrent of unrest and nonacceptance of being ruled and subjugated.  Small groups of people are beginning to come together to challenge authority at the cost of their lives.
What will happen now?  Resistance is mounting and the people who believed they have conquered America have won.  I loved the heart of this novel…that America is in the heart of her residents.  People remember what freedom cost so many times before.  In this novel, they are being called to choose to make the sacrifice again.  The tale is filled with suspense and it is a thriller to the max!  If swearing, violence or sexual innuendos offend you, know beforehand that is in these books.  It is told as part of the story, and there are no explicit sexual scenes at all.  If you like stories that touch the heart of the patriot in you don’t miss this series.  The Johnstones have shared a masterful tale that will keep you in suspense until the final book in the series is released.
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…