Skip to main content

Johnstone's: Phoenix Rising

Title:  Phoenix Rising
Author:  William W. Johnstone w/ J. A. Johnstone
Pages:  352
Year:  2011
Publisher:  Pinnacle
                If you are to read this new series which starts with this novel, be prepared to have a heightened sense of suspense!  The sequel, Phoenix Rising:  Firebase Freedom, having been released in December 2012, and the final segment of this series set to be published in 2013 will be reviewed also.  Being familiar with the westerns written by these authors, I was intrigued when I ran across this novel recently.  Now having read it, I cannot believe how awesome it is.  Please be aware there is some foul language in the book because the main characters and scenes have to do with military personnel in precarious situations.  I in no way excuse or condone the use of the language in the books.
What I found when reading the story was how in some ways it mirrors what has and is happening in America today.  Parts of the story have an end time feeling to them when the government elects its first foreign-born President of the United States.  The president then begins to totally dismantle the structure of the government, military, finance and justice systems.  He then sets up more than just a dictatorship.  In fact what he does were it anything but fiction would be frightening.   It would be a hard story to read if there weren’t threads of hope and freedom woven within the tale.
One of the threads is the beginning of survival groups who learn to pool their resources together.  The hardest part for these cells is learning to discern who is for America and who is for her utter destruction.   Another thread that is introduced is the coming together of various generations from different wars, who need each other not just to survive but begin to formulate taking America back from the hands of those who are slowly destroying her piece by piece.  These different groups of people from all walks of life begin to utilize each other’s strengths in order to lay a foundation to fight against evil.
As I read this novel I had to continually remind myself this was a work of fiction, but also be open minded that as an American I need to always be diligent in safeguarding the blessings and freedoms we currently enjoy.  Phoenix Rising is full of action, suspense, and is a real page-turner that kept me reading until the end.  Before reading this one I already had purchased the sequel, knowing that patriotism is one theme I enjoy reading about.  Grab a copy of this novel and the sequel, and then strap yourself in for one wild and suspense-filled ride!
My rating is 4 ½ stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…