Skip to main content

King by R. J. Larson

Title:  King (Books of the Infinite #3)
Author:  R. J. Larson
Pages:  352
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Bethany House
                King is the third and final installment in the Books of the Infinite series by R. J. Larson.  Readers see the close relationship between the Infinite and His Prophet, Ela, deepen as well as with His Judge, Kien.  These are the focus of the first two books in the series, respectively.  I’m looking forward to more novels from this author, and I encourage you to read this series.  You won’t regret it.
                The Prophet, Ela, is now married to Kien Lantec.  Kien has been exiled from his homeland and has been made a citizen and lord in Siphra by King Akabe.  Ela is still a target for assassination by the Ateans as she is the Infinite’s servant.  They think the Infinite is not real.  She receives revelations of the future from him as well as power.  She is completely dedicated to him.  She serves King Akabe on an earthly level.  Ela and Kien are summoned from their new land and holdings by the King.  They travel back to the capital of Siphra and learn of three different assassination attempts on the King by Ateans related to his new queen.  It is decided that the King, Ela, Kien and his new wife along with some guards will leave the capital until the assassins are captured and security improved.
                King Akabe thinks he must marry to obtain a certain piece of land to rebuild the Infinite’s temple.  He must marry an Atean and she is definitely not a believer in the Infinite, but how dedicated is she to her goddess?  She is young and alone in Siphra and has been treated badly by her family.  Can she open her heart to her new husband and The One he worships?  The King foils the assassination attempts while trying to figure out his new wife.  Does she have any feelings for him?  He thinks it is possible they can have a true marriage, not the one they were forced into.  The King has it revealed to him that in his pride to be the one to rebuild the temple and thus marrying an unbeliever, he has not followed the Infinite’s will for him.
                This is an exciting adventure to wrap up the series.  There is action, love, plotting and scheming, hostages taken and unbelievers dying.  There is never a dull moment in this book, which is one reason I liked it.  The characters have matured and grown so much in their faith since the first book.  The ability of them to stand and serve and obey the Infinite when in terrifying situations is admirable.  I so enjoyed the conversations that took place between the Infinite and Ela.  She is so young physically at 19 years of age, but so grounded in her faith and service.  What an inspiration!  Forgiveness is extended to those undeserving just like our Father forgives us when we ask with a broken and contrite heart in true repentance.  This book is a great conclusion to the whole series, which I recommend.
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…