Skip to main content

Never Let Go

Title:  Never Let Go
Author:  Mac & Mary Owen with Travis Thrasher
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Lucas Lane Publisher
Note:  I received a recommendation to read this book from
When I first looked at the cover of the book, I thought, “There is really no reason for me to read this nonfiction work”.  Then, the title grabbed my attention and I thought, “Well I am learning to Never Let Go of God because He is the reason for me being who I am today”.  Sometimes a question and/or a phone call can change our plans whether it is for the day, week, month or even longer.  Here is a book that I found interesting, encouraging, and filled with hope.  While it is true that many things the couple share in their testimony never have happened to me, it is equally true that I need Him every day.
Mac and Mary Owen openly share their lives over the last 40 years:  The good, the bad and the ugly.  The chapters switch between Mac sharing and then Mary telling about life from her perspective.  Mac wasn’t a Christian, though he was a very talented wood worker and passionate about Mary.  Unfortunately, he also got hooked on very serious drugs.  Mary decided to stop parting her days and throw her energies into raising her daughters.
The interesting part is how God not just saved them, but how He changed them.  How He worked to bring all their children together again.  Reading about how one man loved his wife for 57 years and the whole time she had a mental illness that back then didn’t have a name or a way of treating it and how God sure used that man was inspiring.  It isn’t a hard book to read or very long, but it will touch as well as tug at your heart.  For a long time, this couple did Bible studies and opened their home to help others learn to overcome their addictions.  Mac and Mary Owens’ life laid out before us is a call to “be” the servants of Jesus anytime, anywhere, in whatever way God leads.
I am so thankful to Fred at The Book Club Network for sharing how this book touched him and his encouragement to read it.  I am glad I did, and I hope you will take the time to read it too with an open heart to hear what God may speak to you.  These are real people who lived their lives with their scars that they share in the hopes that others will find their hope and need in Jesus Christ.  In the process, learn about a ministry, Celebrate Recovery, which is part of the testimony of the Owen family.
Travis Thrasher writes this story that the Owens swore no one would ever know about as their lives for so long were all about secrets.  Now, as they have grown in their walk with the Lord, they open up and allow Travis to put their story to print in order to help others.  Enjoy!
My rating is 5 stars.
The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…