Skip to main content

Sapphire Ice by Hallee Bridgeman

Title: Sapphire Ice (The Jewel Series Book #1)
Author:  Hallee Bridgeman
Pages:  212
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Olivia Kimbrell Press
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book from
There are many novels I have read already this year, with the majority being most enjoyable.  Here is an exceptional novel, in fact when communicating with the author I expressed the totality of my review in one word, WOW!  Fully aware that the word doesn’t help anyone to grasp the contents or various aspects of the novel here is a little teaser to whet your appetite.
Three women who live together, and are half-sisters with a background that is very distinct.  Not only is each one’s background dissimilar so is their heritage, and ancestry.  The actions taken on one night alter the future for all three in the years growing up.  Robin is the eldest and has an overwhelming sense of being responsible for Maxine and Sarah.  Robin works hard to put her sisters through college, now when they are grown with Sarah having just a couple years left, Robin feels she can rest then.
However, two men are going to come in her life each for a different reason.  One wants to show her how Christ makes all the difference in the world.  The other man, well let’s just say you got to read the book to believe it.  Robins who life is about to be turned upside down and her sisters couldn’t be happier but what does Robin feel about all this, can she trust anybody ever again?
Sapphire Ice is the first book in the Jewel Trilogy Bundle #1 which includes a novella Greater Then Rubies, which I will share in another review.  I just was so overwhelmed with the way author Hallee Bridgeman has her characters in situations that are very life like.  The emotional tension I felt as the characters interacted was something I will not forget, whether the players were praying or arguing.  All I kept thinking was how much a story such as this reflects what real human beings feel.
Another aspect is how some of the characters were in accountability relationships in their walk with Christ.  Truth spoken from one to another, praying with and for others, and being a conduit of the love God has for each of us regardless of where or who we are today. As Iron sharpens iron was a phrase I kept thinking when sparks would fly in the plot.  Repentance, taking time out to be alone with the Lord is just a part of the strong message in the plot.  Well, that gets you started, go have fun discovering what else lies between the covers of the book!
My rating is 5+ stars!
Note: The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…