Skip to main content

The Brotherhood Conspiracy

Title:  The Brotherhood Conspiracy
Author:  Terry Brennan
Pages:  360
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Kregel Publications
                The Brotherhood Conspiracy is the follow-up novel to The Sacred Cipher.  It could be read as a standalone novel, but readers would gain greater enrichment and enjoyment if they read The Sacred Cipher first.  This first novel lays the groundwork for character relationships and the story in the second novel picks up after the events picks up where the first one left off.
                Tom Bohannon is home in the United States after barely surviving the adventure of a lifetime and making a discovery that changed the face of the Middle East…for a month.  He has seen the Temple Mount collapse via television and begins to wonder why God would call him on such a mission as it appears to have a seeming waste of time with loss of life.  Tom just wants to get back to a normal life, but then he receives a call from the President of the United States.  The President wants him to find another ancient Jewish treasure to help preserve Jerusalem.  Can Tom and his colleagues ignore a “request” from the President of the United States?  Are they really ready for another dangerous mission so soon after the other has just ended in which they survived by the skin of their teeth?
                While Tom and his friends deal with this issue in the USA, other forces in the Middle East are at work to prevent a restoration of Jerusalem.  Instead of rebuilding, the Brotherhood calls for jihad.  The imam in control wants revenge for what he views as Israel’s destruction of the Dome of the Rock and the Muslim temple that were on the Temple Mount.  He sends men after these Americans to kill them for their interference.  Israel’s leader also has his agenda he is pursuing.  Who will accomplish their mission first?  There is much political maneuvering and deception involved.  Who can be trusted?
                It was great to reconnect with these familiar characters in another adventure with dangerous consequences to the characters, their families and their countries.  I liked how the author placed a subtitle heading when he changed locations; it really helped keep all the characters and the geography straight.  I enjoyed the historical information presented and learned some new things.  Just as in the first novel, the action, mystery and suspense kept me turning pages quickly to find out what would happen next.  The story was captivating and entertaining and thoroughly enjoyable. 
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…