Skip to main content

Florian's Gate by Davis Bunn

Title:  Florian’s Gate (The Priceless Collection #1)
Author:  Davis Bunn
Pages:  333
Year:  2013 (re-release date); original year of publication 1992
Publisher:  Hendrickson Publishers
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book from
                Florian’s Gate is the first book in “The Priceless Collection” series by Davis Bunn; it has also been released before in 1992.  The setting is London and Poland shortly after the Berlin Wall has fallen.  The main characters are Jeffrey Sinclair, who is from America and his cousin Alexander Kantor, who is from Poland, but is very wealthy and has residences all over Europe.
                Alexander Kantor has a reputation for obtaining the most exquisite and rare antiques for his antique business.  People wonder where he gets them because he rarely produces the provenance for his finds.  Is he involved in something shady or even illegal?  He is approaching 70 years of age and hires his cousin Jeffrey to work for him to learn the business and eventually take over.  Jeffrey doesn’t know this when he accepts the job.  After about a year, Alexander takes Jeffrey on his first buying trip.  What Jeffrey discovers on this trip is shocking and life changing.  Alexander feels it is time to deal with his past, but can he wade through the myriad of emotions to find resolution and peace?
                Jeffrey Sinclair is approaching 30 and bored with his life in America.  When his cousin travels from London to offer him a job, Jeffrey realizes this is the opportunity of a lifetime and readily accepts.  Jeffrey must learn the ins-and-outs of the antique business.  He also builds a reputation for honesty in the antique world.  He is fascinated by his assistant Katya and believes she is the “one”.  She is very reserved and questions him about his faith or lack thereof.  She is a strong believer and wonders why Jeffrey is not.  Jeffrey wonders what Katya is keeping from him and why she won’t completely trust him.
                This is a well-researched and well-written book with descriptions of antiques and places that give the reader a “you are there” feeling as if you are really seeing what is being described.  I learned about the antique business and Polish culture, history and Communist Poland.  There was also a gut-wrenching and heart-rending portion of the story that takes place at Auschwitz, one of the Nazi concentration camps during WWII.  This is described in vivid detail and just made my heart ache for what these people endured.  Readers also see Poland post-Communism and the intense struggles that take place just to live every day.  The story takes a while to get moving, however.  It is rather tedious at the beginning, but don’t give up.  Jeffrey and Alexander are very likeable characters.  The question of why does God allow suffering is addressed, and the two men begin to seek Him.
My rating is 4 stars.
Note: The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…