Skip to main content

Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold

Title:  Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold
Author:  Joyce Magnin             (
Pages:  320
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Zondervan
Reading this novel, which is the second in a series, was absolutely delightful!  The first novel Harriet Beamer takes the Bus, which I haven’t read yet, starts the Harriet Beamer series written by a very talented author.  Joyce Magnin has written other adult novels as well as those for middle grades children according to her website.  She also does editing, speaking and teaching in addition to raising her son, Adam, who is still at home.  You can visit her site to learn about her various novels published and about herself as she shares in a way that is sure to make you laugh.
In Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold, I was introduced to a lively widowed senior citizen character that collects salt and pepper shakers and has recently moved in with her son and his wife.  She has had to leave behind her best friend, pack up her stuff and move to a place where everyone is a stranger to her.  She has a wonderful sense of humor, faith, and longs for adventure every day.  While realizing she is older, she can’t think about getting old as it brings her down.  Instead, she looks for ways to do new things and one day hopes to become a grandmother.
As Harriet learns about the history of where she is now living, her interest in gold mines peaks.  From here on out, Harriet is on one adventure after another while learning to change and adapt to her new environment while making friends.  When her best friend, Martha, comes to join her for a couple weeks, the two of them discover even more. 
I liked that I could laugh at what this character Harriet said and did.  While I am not in this particular season of life, I couldn’t help but envision myself being like her when I get there.  Harriet didn’t want to focus on growing old or letting moss grow under her feet just waiting for her time.  Nope!  The character seeks life, adventure, God’s hand, and all the while with her Basset Hound, Humphrey, in tow who likes warm glazed donuts to eat.  Harriet is created to show us how no matter what age we are there are new lessons to learn, people to know and places to see.  I guess I want to be like Harriet Beamer “when I grow up” is what I am saying.  When you read the book, I hope you catch the sense of living every day to its fullest.
My rating is 5+ stars.  Oh, I am buying the first novel to read as soon as this review is written J!
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…