Skip to main content

On Distant Shore (Wings of the Nightgale Book #2)

Title:  On Distant Shores (Wings of the Nightingale Book 2)
Author:  Sarah Sundin
Pages:  432
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Revell
Awesome!  I just finished reading the second novel in Sarah Sundin’s Wings of the Nightingale Series.  The characters’ stories begin in the first book titled, With Every Letter.  One characteristic of historical novels that I so appreciate is the research done that brings authenticity as well as new knowledge to me.  The more I read I realize so much happens at a single moment we just aren’t capable of being aware of it as being God, especially in today’s society where so much is instant and electronic.  We seem to have lost some appreciation as to what has happened before this time in history.  When authors undertake to search out historical nuggets then weave a tale around it, we can all enjoy their true labor of love they serve for our enjoyment.
In this series, the author takes us back to World War 2, highlighting the way nurses had to be trained and began being used on flights involving patients.  Also brought forth is the way pharmacists were viewed at that particular time in history in the theatre of war.  What makes the reading so spellbinding is the way characters are presented with such realism such as how they struggle with their faith in various situations or loss on the front lines.
I cannot imagine how hard it was for relationships during this timeframe to begin, bloom and grow when death as well as danger sat so closely every moment.  How about having a loved one at the front lines with letters taking so long to catch up to the recipient, if it ever did, since there was so much movement of troops.  Today people have a multitude of ways to communicate long distances quickly and for the most part without having to wait to receive a response. 
The servicemen and women in the novel have to face their fears or lives, including their own, can be lost.  Plus add the many children who became orphans some with physical, emotional and mental challenges.  Once you finish reading this novel, I believe you will, like me, be reminded to thank prior service men and women for their great sacrifice in more ways then we will ever know.
Sarah Sundin depicts themes such as faith, fears, love, redemption, and realizing where our true fulfillment comes from, God and God alone.  You will travel all over Europe on many fronts; pictures of action with adventure are painted vividly along with places most likely seen by many in the war.  Plus a challenge lies in the pages too and as for what that challenge is you’ll need to read the book!
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…