Skip to main content

The Icing on the Cake!

Title:  The Icing on the Cake (Weddings by Design Book 2)
Author:  Janice Thompson
Pages:  320
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Revell
Weddings by Design is a series of novels that focus on relationships, first with the Lord before looking elsewhere for fulfillment.  I read the first novel, Picture Perfect, and thoroughly enjoyed the various heritages the characters brought to the story.  Now in the sequel, The Icing on the Cake, Janice Thompson continues where Hannah’s story wasn’t quite complete in the first novel one.  The story continues with Hannah’s adventure while expanding on several of the other players’ story lines.
Scarlet is the daughter of a pastor and an only child, which is why Hannah is her BFF.  While preparing for events, Scarlet begins to feel uncomfortable with herself and who she is, doubting she can be loved for who she is and her looks.  Armando comes from a large Italian family, who feels as if he never got the right amount of attention; therefore, he was making decisions based on what he felt, which led him away from the family.  Now, he has returned to the island to help his family and then go wherever the winds might blow, at least that was his plan. 
Sometimes when we aren’t looking for Who we really need or want God brings the pieces together to draw us to Him.  In the story, many characters are looking for or avoiding God for a variety of reasons.  Some even refuse to interact with people based on past experiences.  Now, in the tale, the tiny church, which isn’t modern by any means, is going to have a talent show to raise funds for a mission trip.  There are also plans to have a sale at the bakery Scarlet owns and runs.  Faced with her past and wondering about the future leads her down a road of opportunities. 
The tale has many themes running throughout the pages such as nicknames that build up and others that cause pain for a long time.  There is forgiveness, choosing how to live now for a healthier future, as well as being gently led out of one’s comfort zone.  Each chapter highlights a little saying that adds spice to the novel some of which will cause you to really laugh out loud!  Some of the personality traits in the players I would venture to say are ones we can relate to in ourselves or someone we know.  Most of the quirks in these fictional families will crack you up or at least make you smile.
So grab a sweet ice tea, a comfy chair and enjoy book 2, The Icing on the Cake!
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…