Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Dark Road Home

Title:  Dark Road Home (Edge of Freedom #2)
Author:  Elizabeth Ludwig
Pages:  340
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Bethany House
This second story in the series is a great continuation of the first novel, No Safe Harbor.  The two main characters in this novel are Ana Kavanagh and Eoghan Hamilton.  The story is set in New York City in the 1800s.  Several characters from the first novel make return appearances in this second novel.
Eoghan Hamilton wakes up after a few too many ales on the steps of a local church.  The sisters and father at the church think he is homeless and offer him food, shelter and a job.  Eoghan accepts, but continues to think of ways he can redeem himself in the eyes of his fellow compatriots, the Fenians.  Eoghan longs to be a part of this political force again, seeking Irish homeland rule.  However, the more Eoghan is asked to do, the more he begins to wonder why he is pursuing this path.  He meets Ana while she is volunteering at the church and is immediately drawn to her.  She slowly begins to share part of her past with him, and he wants nothing more than to protect her.  Could he really find it in himself to love her?  He reconciles with his twin sister, Cara, who has married his enemy.  Is this reconciliation for real or is there another purpose?  Can Eoghan really ever trust a Turner? 
Ana Kavanagh has secrets she has shared with no one.  Why is she drawn to share them with Eoghan?  She has turned her back on God because He turned His back on her.  She wants nothing to do with the church, but to see Eoghan; she must go to the church because that’s where he works.  What else is going on in Eoghan’s life Ana wonders?  Could he ever care for someone with her scarred hands and heart?  As the story continues, Ana begins to look forward to going to volunteer at the church and not just to see Eoghan.  Her heart slowly comes to realize that God didn’t turn His back on her, and He welcomes her back into His presence with open arms.
The characters of Eoghan and Ana are developed so well that readers can feel their emotions and thoughts.  They both battle with returning to the God of their youth or relying on themselves.  I think a lot of people today face a similar battle.  The plot moved the story along at a good pace and set in motion the plot for a third book.  I can’t wait to read that one!  The book had plenty of events going on to keep the reader’s interest.  I recommend both books in this series and hope you will enjoy these stories as much as I have.  I’m looking forward to what will happen next in this exciting series!
My rating is 4 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

No comments: