Skip to main content

Glamorous Illusions

Title:  Glamorous Illusions (The Grand Tour Series #1)
Author:  Lisa T. Bergren
Pages:  402
Year:  2012
Publisher:  David C. Cook
What is an illusion?  An illusion is defined as something that deceives by giving a false impression of what really is.  This story begins in the wilds of Montana, but then shifts to the wealthy European stage.  The year is 1913, and the two main characters of this story are Will McCabe and Cora Diehl Kensington.  As the story progresses, Cora and Will learn what it is to be real and what is only as they think it to be.
Cora has been raised on a farm, doing chores from sun up to sun down.  She returns for summer vacation from college where she is studying to become a teacher.  She has finished two years and has two more years to go to complete her degree.  Upon arriving home, Cora discovers her father lying in a barn unconscious.  After being seen by the doctor, not much hope is given to Cora and her mother.  Cora soon learns that her father’s health will never be what it once was, her parents have no money and Cora’s likelihood of returning to college in the fall is very improbable, if not impossible.  Then, a stranger arrives at their house and Cora is soon told a secret she could never, ever have guessed.  This stranger offers Cora and her parents a future they never would have dared dream about.
Cora is soon thrust into the midst of two wealthy families, the Kensingtons and the Morgans.  Each family has children on the brink of adulthood who are going on a Grand Tour of Europe to learn about art, history and different people and cultures before returning home.  Cora continually struggles to become part of the group.  Her only friend is Will McCabe, a tour guide in training.  Will has two years of college under his belt, but due to financial reasons had to leave college a few years ago.  He hopes to earn enough money this summer to return to college in the fall.  He wants to be an architect, but his uncle wants him to take over the tour business full-time as his career.  Will identifies with Cora’s struggles to become a part of a new group.  He encourages her, befriends her, protects her, and begins to fall in love with her.  There can be nothing between them as Cora is now part of society’s elite and he is just a tour guide.  As Cora tries to come to terms with whom she really is, will she remember Who she really belongs to?  The One who will never abandon her, never let her walk alone?
This story is rich in historical detail, which is one reason I so enjoy reading historical fiction.  I learn new things, but I can also use my imagination and get lost in a good fictional story.  I will soon be reviewing the second book in the series, Grave Consequences, as well as the third book in the series, Glittering Promises.  Both of these books continue to follow Cora’s Grand Tour of Europe as well as her ever-changing lifestyle and knowledge of herself.  As I was reading, I was reminded that we have choices placed before us often, but do we consult the One who can always advise us best before making our decisions?
My rating is 4 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…