Gunpowder Tea

Title:  Gunpowder Tea
Author:  Margaret Brownley
Pages:  336
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Thomas Nelson
Gunpowder Tea is the sequel to Dawn Comes Early as well as Waiting for Morning.  These novels of the Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series are filled with light-hearted humor, romance and just a touch of mystery to keep readers engaged till the last page!  Margaret Brownley writes with such heartwarming humor that will lighten anyone’s day.  I have read the other novels written by this author and was never disappointed making time to sit back and get lost in the pages of her books.
Here is a woman who has decided to follow in her father’s footsteps in a profession where any woman in the late 1800s is welcomed or encouraged to become employed.  After Miranda’s latest escapade, she is summarily summoned to the boss’s office where she expects to be fired.  When she is given another job to do, her surprise at the assignment plus moving to where she has never been, begin a journey Miranda is not soon to forget.
Everyone, except the owner of the ranch, is under suspicion for the murder of a detective and arson.  There are two agencies working on the case, but the competition between companies is not one of hospitality.  One agent comes to find out if the ring leader of the bandits lives on the ranch.  The other agent came for other reasons besides locating and arresting the bandit known as Phantom.  When the identities of both agents become known, the question is who else knows?  The level of danger increases as the investigators slowly ensnare the leader.
Reading the interaction between “Branch” who works for some company and “Annie” who is a Pinkerton Agent is so funny.  The bantering, flirting and attraction while trying to remain devoted to the case makes for an enjoyable adventure.  In the background, there always seems to be someone lurking purposefully staying in the shadows to hide from detection.
The other characters in the tale and the ending will make the time spent reading well worth it!  Here is another novel with faith as the foundation, set in the western territory of Arizona.  Love, questions to God, honesty, faith, action and adventure are some of the ingredients to another best selling, excellent tale!
My rating is 5+ stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
 Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment