Skip to main content

A Necessary Deception

Title:  A Necessary Deception (The Daughters of Bainbridge House #1)
Author:  Laurie Alice Eakes
Pages:  343
Year:  2011
Publisher:  Revell
In this first book of her new series, Laurie Alice Eakes sets the story in England in the spring of 1812 when France is at war with England, and the United States is threatening war with England as well.  This is also known as the Regency period, and the story is set among the aristocratic class.
Lady Lydia Gale is a widow, living a rather poor life in comparison to her upbringing on her husband’s pension as he died while in service to his country fighting the French.  She only enjoyed one week of marriage before her husband set off to rejoin his unit, and Lydia never saw him again.  She received one final message from her husband before his death and now the time has come to fulfill the obligation set forth in his message.  After meeting this obligation, she thinks she is done with her duty and heads off to London to help plan one sister’s wedding and another sister’s coming out season.  Her mother is often ill and leaves this task to Lydia as she is the oldest.  Lydia also is still trying to measure up to her father’s expectations in anything she does as she feels she has always failed him in everything she has tried to do.  She failed at being a wife, a mother, and a daughter in her eyes.  She believes God no longer hears her prayers and has given up on praying.  Now she is being blackmailed by an unknown government official to introduce two operatives into society or else her family will be ruined once it is found out the task Lydia was obliged to perform per her husband’s last edict.
Christien de Meuse is French, but moved to England with his family at the age of 10 to escape the revolutionaries.  He is also looking to Lady Gale for an entrée into society.  He and Lydia’s husband served together as soldiers.  Lydia’s husband shared her letters and pictures with Christien, so he feels as if he knows her before he actually meets her.  He is immediately smitten, but keeps his feelings to himself.  He must complete his last mission, and then settle down in the country and see his sisters married off.  Lady Gale on the contrary is very distrustful of him as she has just had the same request made of her by someone else.  This can’t be a coincidence.  Who is telling the truth?  Christien has had to compromise his personal beliefs and integrity for his job.  Can he successfully complete this last mission or will he return to the Christian man he was before the service?
This novel is classified as historical romance, but there is much more.  There is a tension, intrigue and suspense with each page as the reader tries to figure out who is really who they say they are and who is lying.  Also, there is humor, camaraderie and bolstering of shaky faith of some.  I thoroughly enjoyed this story and have already started on the second book in the series, which I will review here shortly.  This is a great adventure with great dialogue to keep readers interested and quickly flipping pages until the very last page.
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…