Skip to main content

The Advent of Murder

Title:  The Advent of Murder (A Faith Morgan Mystery)
Author:  Martha Ockley
Pages:  255
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Lion Fiction
This story finds Vicar Faith Morgan readying herself and her parish for Christmas during the Advent season.  She barely has time to sleep she is so busy arranging carol services, the annual Christmas pageant, and a toy collection drive to mention only a few of the myriad of things on her “to do” list.  She sets out one day to visit her choice to play Joseph for the Christmas pageant.  Upon arrival, she finds the police and the forensics team in the midst of recovering a body found on “Joseph’s” property.  He is then taken in for questioning.  Of course, the inspector in charge is her ex-boyfriend, Ben Shorter.
As in the first book of the series, The Reluctant Detective, Faith is in almost constant contact with Ben and forced to deal with her remaining feelings for him.  Ben, however, is not a Christian and spears Faith occasionally with well-placed barbs about her faith, making things more difficult for them both as they try to solve the case.  The victim is a teenage boy who was found after being washed downstream.  He has only two close friends, one male and one female.  Could he have been murdered in a fit of jealousy?  There have also been a few robberies in the area over the last few months, and Faith wonders if there is a connection between them and the murder.  On top of all this, she must deal with her mother’s new signs of failing mental health.
After reading the first book in the series, there were a few things I didn’t think needed to be portrayed by a vicar.  Now, after reading this second book, I’m happy to report those dark marks did not make an appearance in this book.  There was one questionable view of the meaning of Advent on page 81 that readers should notice, but other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed this second mystery.  The character interactions were more in depth to help develop more of their personalities.  I really enjoyed getting to know the parish family better.  Faith’s incurable curiosity serves her well to help the investigation, but sometimes causes others pain.  That is a part of how we live life this side of heaven though isn’t it?  We sometimes think we’re helping and we have the best of intentions, but we forget to talk to God about what we’re doing first and make a mess of things.  That is one thing I would like to see more of…Faith reading Scripture and believing that only God is worthy of our faith, not God and love as is uttered by Faith at one point in the story.  I’m looking forward to the next book in the series.  I hope the next book will be even better.
My rating is 4 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…