Skip to main content

The Miner's Lady

Title:  The Miner’s Lady (Land of Shining Water #3)
Author:  Tracie Peterson
Pages:  331
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Bethany House
This story is set in Minnesota in 1890.  The other two books in this series, The Icecutter’s Daughter and The Quarryman’s Bride are also set in this same time period.  The two main families are the Calarcos and the Panettas, who are feuding for years.  Two love stories happen in this novel, between Isabella Panetta and Orlando Calarco as well as between their older siblings, Chantel Panetta and Dante Calarco.
The Panetta family and the Calarco family have been in the iron mining business for years.  They are both Italian families with a long history of feuding brought with them when the left Italy for America.  There are definite shades of Romeo and Juliet among this romance, which can be entertaining, is not original.  Chantel has just returned from a trip to Italy and realizes she no longer wants to stay in Ely, Minnesota, but return to Italy.  Upon her return, her sister Isabella informs her that she is in love with Orlando Calarco and wants Chantel to help her spend time with Orlando.  Dante, on the other hand, works in the mines with his brother and as the oldest has been given the task of convincing Orlando that he can’t love Isabella and to keep the two apart.  Can Chantel continue to encourage her sister in a love she knows is forbidden?  Can Dante convince Orlando of his folly?  When Chantel and Dante inevitably meet, will they continue their families’ feud or will they take a different path?
This book was just average in my opinion.  In fact, I felt this entire series was average.  The main male character in this story appeared only strong in the physical sense.  I have read many of Tracie Peterson’s books, and this one just didn’t seem to have the depth to it that some of her older works have.  The two main characters hardly interacted enough to develop a romance.  There was too much focus on the sister, Isabella as well since the story was supposed to be about Chantel.  The strong grandmother in the Calarco family was also a great source of wisdom, advice and mentoring.  I so enjoy seeing the older generation involved in the lives of the younger generation; they have so much to teach.  I also enjoyed the description of the delicious Italian food.  Yummy!!  I liked, as with all Tracie’s books, that there was a Christian message and in this story it was about forgiveness.
My rating is 3 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book from  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…