Monday, February 24, 2014

The 13:FALL

Title:  The 13:  FALL
Author:  Robbie Cheuvront & Erik Reed                                                                                  
Pages:  320
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Barbour
The 13: FALL is one spell-binding novel that will not only inspire, but long after the book is closed will keep readers thinking.  My first reading of the novel was thrilling and I couldn’t wait for the sequel, The 13: STAND, which was released in late 2013.  When I was given the opportunity to read the sequel, I decided to reread The 13: FALL to reacquaint myself with the plot and characters.  I am so glad I did, because there was more there than I recalled.
In the book, we are introduced to a young man called The Prophet.  He sends messages to the President of the United States.  The messages come to the President in several ways, and after a time, the President decides he must act.  Three people join together to locate and apprehend The Prophet, but are foiled at every turn.  The team members at first are together at every scene to find evidence or clues to the elusive young man.  Later, readers will become drawn into the suspense even more as they see this tale shows a threat to the United States to be real.
What makes The 13: FALL different is the sole point of view of looking at all the events through spiritual eyes with discernment gained by the reading of Scripture and prayer.  The characters who believe make mistakes just like anybody; they aren’t perfect, which is very true in reality.  However, God continues to reach out to believers and speaks to those who come to the end of themselves as the crisis increases.  While not every character becomes a Christian, sadly a true reflection of truth, some do turn to Him and seek the truth.
There are very few novels I have read a second time.  I am thrilled to say this is one of the rare ones!  It presents the Gospel in a loving way and shows the hope Christians live with daily.  I believe it shows ways to discuss the relationship He wants with all those He creates and how to answer those who are skeptical.  In today’s world, many are living in fear without hope and without knowledge of the One True God.  The bottom line is God loves us and desires to have a relationship with us.  In fact, He initiates the relationship every time.  I wonder if you are listening for His voice.  Are you reading the Bible so He can speak to you, leading you to Him?
If you want a novel that is truly unique to read, The 13: FALL is the book!  The sequel, The 13: STAND, will be one to read after the FALL.  Perhaps you might even think of people who would love to read these books and also see how God is truly in control even when chaos seems to abound.
My rating is 5 stars.

The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

No comments: