Skip to main content

Distortion (Moonlighters Series #2)

Title:  Distortion (Moonlighters Series #2)
Author:  Terri Blackstock
Pages:  338
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Zondervan
Juliet Cole has been a stay-at-home mom for several years now and has her routine and life down pat, so she thinks.  When the unthinkable happens and her husband is murdered right before her eyes, her whole life comes under scrutiny.  Was the last 15 years of her life, married to her husband, a lie?  What was she supposed to tell her children?  Who would want to kill her husband, a well-liked surgeon?  As Juliet is subjected to questioning by the police, her sisters and Michael Hogan, her boss, begin their own investigation into the murder.
Julie begins to learn more and more unbelievable stuff about the man she thought she knew and had shared a life with over the last 15 years.  She is sickened by what she discovers, but she is determined to discover who killed her husband as they now are threatening her two young sons.  She will do whatever she has to do in order to keep them safe.  She helps Michael investigate an old enemy who might be connected to whoever killed her husband.  Can she and her sisters and Michael figure out who is behind this crime ring?  Can they finally arrest and put out of commission Michael’s brother’s killer?
This is another thrilling, suspense-filled winner from Terri Blackstock!  I began this book today and finished today; it was that good.  The short chapters helped to keep the tension ratcheted up and kept the story moving at a quick pace.  There is an interesting plot with some unexpected twists.  Readers get to be reunited with characters from the first book in the series, Truth-Stained Lies.  There are definitely struggles with faith as various characters are faced with deception, kidnapping, murder and much more.  I can’t wait for the next book in the series.  I can easily recommend this great action book!
My rating is 5 stars.

Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…