Fear Has A Name

Title:  Fear Has a Name (The Crittendon Files #1)
Author:  Creston Mapes
Pages:  3417
Year:  2013
Publisher:  David C. Cook
This is an exciting beginning of a new series by Creston Mapes.  I was unfamiliar with this author before reading this book, but I will be reading the second book in the series for sure because this first book is so entertaining.  This story is set in a small town in Ohio.  Jack Crittendon works for the town newspaper as a reporter.  He is assigned a story about a missing pastor with evidence leading most people to believe he might be a possible suicide victim.  The pastor’s wife denies this and wants to get more information out to the public to help find her missing husband.  Jack begins to uncover more than just a missing pastor.  As he interviews other employees at the church of the missing pastor, he learns of possible criminal activity.  Is the missing pastor a victim of a crime rather than suicide?
Meanwhile, Jack’s wife, Pam is being stalked by a man who wears all black, has red hair and drives a beat up brown car.  He breaks into the house when Pam and their two young daughters are home.  She escapes with the girls to safety, but soon discovers all is not as it was in her home.  Who is this guy and why is he after her?  Jack is very protective of his family and has a history of getting into fights in the past.  He has turned this over to the Lord, but when his family is threatened this old reaction begins to crop up more frequently.  He must learn again to give this anger over to the Lord, as well as the safety of his family.  God is the ultimate protector.  The stalker becomes bolder and his identity is revealed.  Pam visits her parents in an attempt to get away from the stress of her stalker and has an encounter that threatens her life.
My only negative about the book is I thought the side plot of the missing minister seemed a bit disjointed and didn’t flow together with the main story as well as it could have.  However, it still is a good read even with that said.  The plot is fast-paced and moves the story along quickly.  The main characters come to a point where they realize they are not in control of what does or doesn’t happen in their own lives or those they love.  They must surrender to the only One who is always in control.  They must put their faith on the line in life or death situations, trusting the Lord’s outcome is the best for everyone involved even when it might not look that way to the human eye.  I look forward to further character development in the next book.  I will be reviewing the next book in this series, Poison Town, right here very soon so stay connected!
My rating is 4 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
 Other reviews can be read at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/ .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/lisa.johnson.75457

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

A.D. 33

The Divide