Skip to main content

Garden of Madness

Title:  Garden of Madness
Author:  Tracy Higley
Pages:  376
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Thomas Nelson
Tiamat is the youngest daughter and princess of King Nebuchadnezzar.  She was married at a very young age and her husband has just died.  She is now 21 years old and doesn’t want to marry again.  She thinks she will now be free to do as she likes.  Her mother soon dispels that notion by telling Tia she will marry again and soon.  She will be married to her mother’s cousin, a Mede, to form an alliance between Babylon and Media.  Tia wants no part of this and tries to think up different plans of thwarting her mother’s plan.  Her mother is very cold toward Tia and always concerned with appearances and duty.  Tia literally runs from responsibility.  She has her own training room where she runs sometimes.  She feels free when she leaves the palace and enters the city full of people.  The murder of one of her father’s faithful noblemen causes her to begin asking questions about his murder.  This leads her to Pedaiah, her dead husband’s brother.  He is being trained by Daniel to lead others in the ways of Yahweh.  Pedaiah has secretly loved Tia, but she was married to his brother as well as a pagan, so he kept his distance from her and his feelings to himself.  Now that his brother is dead, is there any hope for him in regards to letting his feelings for her to be known?  Is she even capable of listening and/or learning about the One True God and leaving her pagan gods behind?
Shadir is a mage and has his own plans for Tia.  He has served her father, but due to her father’s “illness”, he now wants to take over the kingdom for himself.  Tia’s mother vows not to let this happen.  Shadir practices sorcery in secret and welcomes demons.  He will stop at nothing to get the man he wants on the throne of Babylon.  Murder is no stumbling block for him.  He also has plans to reveal the true nature of King Nebuchadnezzar’s “illness” to the people of Babylon.
I thought Tia was very spoiled, naïve and selfish throughout most of the story.  Everything was all about her and how things would change for her.  She might have said it was about her family, but it really was about herself.  Not until the last few chapters did she slowly begin to change.  Her focus really did become something other than herself.  This was an intriguing story, and I enjoyed the historical and biblical facts put together to form this fictional take on what could have happened in Babylon.  I also enjoyed reading the Story Behind the Story and the Author’s Note; they are always very interesting and I learn something new each time I read them after one of Tracy’s entertaining stories.
My rating is 4 stars.

Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…