Skip to main content

It Had to be You

Title:  It Had to Be You
Author:  Susan May Warren
Pages:  480
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Tyndale Publishers
Susan May Warren really nails the heart with love and grace when characters in the novel begin to understand how they are viewing themselves, and when what they do in their lives becomes the standard to which they measure their hopes, fears, triumphs or failures is the dawning of a new day. Jace is known as the NHL Blue Ox team’s bad boy.  The more he fights instead of scoring, the happier the fans.  Eden thought writing obits was a meaningless job when all she has ever wanted to be was an honest reporter.
In reality, our lives tend to mesh and we gather our identity through another person’s life or whomever we tend to idolize.  The Christiansen family isn’t depicted as perfect Christians, but has its own problems, hopes, dreams, failures and triumphs.  With each page, readers will be able to identify with various characters with different life situations.  Sounds like reality does it not?
When parents watch their children become adults, they learn to let go and pray hard for their offspring to be the people God has called them to become.  It is never easy for a parent to let go in the hope and knowledge that God their Father is right there with them.  While I read, I learned it takes faith and grace to let go with one hand and hold onto the Father’s hand with both.  One child in the novel needs a heart transplant; her father is a single parent, having lost his wife to the same heart condition years ago.  As time passes without seeing any hope, the father on his knees hands over his daughter’s care and life into God’s hands because he realizes he cannot carry the burden alone any longer.
Susan May Warren draws the audience into the adventure of the Christiansen family and friends as they live very active lives in Minneapolis in a story that is written with a mother’s heart and life experience.  Each page speaks about an individual’s choices in faith and how God can redeem what looks to be a life wasted.  I appreciated the reality that is reflected in some parts of the story when a character hears words of wisdom with their ears, but God brings it to a rock solid truth in their heart.  I cannot imagine the pressure that professional athletes are under to perform, meet certain criteria or even take on a persona that is not who they really are.  In one scene, readers will read a tender moment where a hockey player is reading his Bible looking for answers, understanding and peace.  Our times with God can sometimes be like this, during trials when we are on our knees handing a hard situation into God’s hands.  For me, meeting with God in His Word is not a ritual to perform or something to mark off a “to do” list, it is a relationship.  A relationship He initiated, keeps and grows for which I am immensely thankful for each new dawn.  I have learned that I have a part in the relationship also by coming to Him just as I am.  How about you?
My rating is 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…