Poison Town

Title:  Poison Town (The Crittendon Files #2)
Author:  Creston Mapes
Pages:  352
Year:  2014
Publisher:  David C. Cook
Here is the second installment of the Crittendon Files.  The story takes place again in Trenton City, Ohio.  Jack Crittendon is on the cusp of the story of his life.  His mechanic and family have been the victims of the local fiberglass manufacturing plant’s emissions of pollutants.  These emissions have caused his mechanic’s neighborhood to have several people to have health problems with some leading to death.  Jack and his reporter friend Derrick begin to dig up information about the company and the people a former reporter had interviewed.  As they begin to uncover more and more incriminating information, the sources begin to disappear.  Jack and Derrick realize that much more is at stake than just a story; their very lives, their friends’ lives and the lives of their families are at stake.  Should Jack just let the story die and take the easy way out or should he keep digging and reveal the truth to everyone no matter the cost?
Granger Meade, the disturbed man from the first novel, Fear Has a Name, makes an appearance again in this story.  He asks Jack for forgiveness about what happened in the past, but Jack refuses.  Jack has let the hate and bitterness take root and his spiritual life has suffered, as well as his married life.  He can’t understand how Pam can so easily forgive Granger for what he has done.  Granger has served his two years in prison and emerged a different man.  Can Jack get back to his right relationship with God before it is too late?
This story was action from start to finish.  I liked Jack’s determination to expose corruption and truth.  The plot didn’t seem all that original, but it was still fun to read.  I didn’t like Pam, Jack’s wife, in this book any more than in the first book.  She cried at the drop of a hat and then worried about fixing her makeup too much.  I did like her reliance on God to provide protection, to give her the ability to forgive and show mercy.  The third entry of the series is due to be released in a few months titled, Sky Zone.  I’m sure it will be just as exciting as the first two books in the series!
My rating is 4 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/.  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/lisa.johnson.75457
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

A.D. 33

The Divide