Skip to main content

Circle of Spies Book #3

Title:  Circle of Spies (Culper Ring #3)
Author:  Roseanna M. White
Pages:  357
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Harvest House Publishers
The books in this series keep getting better and better!  This third installment in the Culper Ring Series is my favorite one.  This story is set in 1865 near the end of the Civil War in Baltimore, Maryland.  The Lane and Arnaud families are still involved in the spy game and have brought their children into the game too.
Slade Osborne is a Pinkerton agent sent to the Confederate sympathizing group known as the Knights of the Golden Circle.  This group is bent on raising havoc against the North and keeping the South’s way of life alive and well despite what President Lincoln has decreed as law.  The head of one of the subgroups is Slade’s target.  Slade is a Unionist, but is working undercover to infiltrate the KGC.  They are planning something big, but Slade must discover what it is and stop it before it is too late.  The man in charge of this group is courting Marietta Hughes, a woman who attracts a lot of male attention, including Slade’s.  At first he isn’t sure which side of the war she is on.  She has an understanding with Devereaux Hughes, who owns slaves, but her family is staunchly Unionist.  Is she more than the flirt and manipulator she shows to society?  Is there more to this woman underneath the surface?  What exactly is the KGC up to?
Marietta Hughes is a young widow who has previously only concerned herself with…herself.  However, she begins to question if Devereaux really loves her or is just using her.  She has a photographic memory and puts it to good use spying.  As Slade begins searching for evidence of what the KGC is up to, he and Marietta spend more and more time together.  Their romance blooms in secret, but neither thinks they are worthy of the other and that their probably is no together forever in their future.  Marietta realizes what a shrew she has been and embraces the faith she has been taught by her parents.  Is it too little too late?  Can she right the wrongs in her life?
I thought watching Marietta struggle with the shame of her past was very realistically portrayed.  She has seeks forgiveness from God and believes He has forgiven her, but hasn’t been able to grasp the freedom that goes with the forgiveness until she listens to the wise counsel of her friend.  Once she understands, she blazes with her faith, compassion and mercy.  Slade spent his young adulthood gambling, drinking and rebelling against his preacher father.  However, he came to realize the value of his father’s teaching, how he was wasting his life and turned his life around to become a strong man of God.  I liked both main characters for their wit and intelligence as well as their faith.  This story just flew by as I quickly kept the pages turning to discover what was going to happen next.  I thoroughly enjoyed all three novels in this series and am looking forward to what this author puts forth next.
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…