Skip to main content

A Texan's Choice (The Heart of a Hero Series #3)

Title: A Texan’s Choice (The Heart of a Hero Book #3)
Author:  Shelley Gray
Pages:  320
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Abingdon Press
What a palatable tension builds in the last book of this series, it was terrific!  All three novels are stories of hope and redemption when all seems lost, broken and the characters despair of life in dire situations.  The tale starts with the first novel in the series A Texan’s Promise continues with A Texan’s Honor before winding up parts of the story in the final book reviewed today.  One of the many things I enjoy about stories and authors is the many differences in writing style, plot, characters and themes. Shelly Gray wraps up the novel series by tying up some loose ends in the books while leaving some unfinished, left to the readers imaginations.
I was captivated by the books, characters and the way the writer shows how faith can play such a huge role in life.  Usually fictional plots, characters and more is taken both from the imagination of the author along with experiencing and watching human beings.  Readers will be able to relate to the characters as they think on their pasts along with choices that they made and the probable consequences thereof both short and long term.
Shelley Gray does a wonderful job of showing us through her novel series that while we tend to assume others think one way about us, it is not usually how they really do.  A couple of her characters were afraid of moving forward in contacting people because of letting their assumptions dictate their choices.  Yet, in a real climactic moment the walls of hearts come down in the characters and as a result they see how so much alike they are really alike when all is said and done.  A bunch of the men longed for new beginnings but feeling unworthy of such a leap from how they currently were living lawless lives to normal ones seemed impossible.  Therein is the picture of what faith is, being convinced of what is hoped for along with knowing that without the Lord truly new beginnings aren’t possible.
I hope during this summer you take some time to read and appreciate the various adventures and fictional people introduced in all three books.  The author did a splendid job and I am glad to have found these books and stories!
My rating is 5+ stars!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
 Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…