Skip to main content

A Texan's Honor (The Heart of a Hero #2)

Title:  A Texan’s Honor (The Heart of a Hero Series #2)
Author:  Shelley Gray
Pages:  336
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Abingdon Press
A Texan’s Promise is the first book that readers might wish to be acquainted with before beginning A Texan’s Honor as the character Scout was introduced in book one.  In book two, he is one of two central figures that performs the orders the boss of the gang demands.  The other character is a mystery from the start.  The Walton Gang takes over a train where one passenger, Jamilyn, is traveling to reach Kansas to meet her remaining family members, having just buried her parents two months earlier.
As time progresses on the train, Jamilyn is confused by both Scout and Will’s words and actions, yet the ruthlessness of other men in gang is never doubted.  In time, Will realizes he has to get the woman off the train if she is to survive, but the snow along with freezing temperatures present an equal challenge of not surviving.  Through the long trail to what Will believes is safety for Jamilyn, his heart is in a battle with his mind as he struggles with his feeling for her since he considers her not available.
I love westerns as different authors bring their own flavor to the stage of the west along with all the action, adventure and romance.  Plus a couple of the characters share their faith, Scripture and pray.  What is hard is learning the loose ends of the first and second books continue on to another installment, A Texan’s Choice.  There are threads of mystery, romance and an unknown future of the main characters in the books.  The scenes described are easy to get lost in, and the tension that builds in the novel had me anticipating the time spent in book three!  I hope the author continues to write in this genre as she does an excellent job weaving a great western book!
My rating is 5+ stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…