Friday, June 6, 2014

A Texan's Promise (The Heart of a Hero Series #1)

Title:  A Texan’s Promise (The Heart of a Hero Series #1)
Author:  Shelley Gray
Pages:  352
Year:  2011
Publisher:  Abingdon
What an attention-grabbing, heart-riveting tale of love, redemption and hope!  Whew!  I absolutely loved the first book in this new series from this new author to me.  I was looking around for new books to read and was granted the opportunity from a publisher to read the second book in the series.  When I found out there was a book one and three, I bought those books and have been planted in a comfy chair lost in a story that speaks volumes of sometimes waiting for others to find the Lord or hear from Him.
Here are two characters with very different backgrounds.  Clayton Proffitt is the foreman at the ranch owned by the father of Vanessa Grant.  After her father’s passing, within a short period of time, her mother rushes into a new marriage because of the overwhelming responsibilities of running such a large ranch.  The decision to marry quickly turns from one of what appears as happiness to one of horror experienced by Mary, who is Vanessa’s mother, Vanessa and her younger brother Miles.  The villain, Price, is a cruel man who would go to the ends of the earth to take what was never rightfully his to own!
Through the pages the audience will begin to see the past scars both Vanessa and Clayton have, as well as what each hopes the future holds.  For the present time, the main concern is keeping Vanessa’s whereabouts unknown to her step-father.  Miles, Clayton and Vanessa are characters with different paths before them and each must learn to love and trust the Lord with the burdens their hearts carry.
I cannot wait to begin book 2 in the series to see what happens with a couple of the minor characters stories that weren’t the focus of book one.  Readers who enjoy westerns stories that have the themes of friendships, dependency on the Lord, and belief in prayer will eat up this book!  Such a great work of fiction did I enjoy and am thankful Shelley Gray took time to write and share.  No one will be sorry to pick up a book that explores the human heart so deeply along with the facets of family and faith.  The Heart of a Hero Series is one that will be on my shelf available to reread again sometime in the future, but also to share with a friend or two.  Grab a copy, a comfy and quiet place then enjoy getting lost in the pages of A Texan’s Promise!
My rating is 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

No comments: