Skip to main content

Raina's Choice

Title:  Raina’s Choice (Western Justice #3)
Author:  Gilbert Morris
Pages:  318
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Shiloh Run Press
Raina Vernay is a pretty, young woman, working in a saloon she inherited from her mother.  Her sister’s husband is pressuring her to go to bed with him, which she wants no part of.  She is desperate to escape his clutches.  She has a letter from her father, who her mother ran off several years ago, that gives his last known location.  She decides she will try to find him and make a home with him.  Her only means of getting to him is with Ty Kincaid, a drifter who has just come to town, heading in the same direction as where her father was last known to be.  Can she find the father she has never known or is she too late?
Ty Kincaid has led a hard life.  He has worked various jobs, been wrongfully imprisoned, escaped prison and is now sicker than a dog.  He arrives in La Tete, Louisiana where he meets Raina.  He stops in for a drink in her saloon, but the local sheriff recognizes him as an escaped prisoner from a Mexican wanted poster.  He arrests Ty and puts him jail.  Raina and Ty reach an agreement where he will help her get north to find her father.  She breaks Ty out of jail, cares for him during a severe case of pneumonia, and arrives with him in Fort Smith.  Ty needs a job so he becomes a marshal for Judge Isaac Parker, the hanging judge.  He doesn’t really want to be a marshal, but doesn’t know what else to do to earn a living.  He and Raina have a tie of shared experiences, but do they love each other?  As the story continues, Raina is offered marriage by someone other than Ty.  Will she accept?  Why wouldn’t she?  How does Ty feel about this marriage proposal that suddenly occurs?
This third book in the Western Justice series is only slightly better than book two, which I rated as two stars.  I found the same deficiencies in this book with flat character development, abrupt introductions of new characters and not being realistic in some instances.  The only reason I rated this book is rated three stars rather than two stars is the realistic struggle Ty goes through while waiting on God to show him what to do with his life as well as good tension for Raina to experience after the shoot-out Ty is involved in.  I have read this author’s Lady Trent series, was entertained and thoroughly enjoyed it so I know this author can write.  I hope he writes another mystery series as I would definitely read that genre from this author.  Overall, I wouldn’t recommend this Western Justice series.
My rating is 3 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…