Skip to main content

Shattered by Dani Pettrey Alaska Courage Series #2

Title:  Shattered (Alaskan Courage #2)
Author:  Dani Pettrey
Pages:  274
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Bethany House Publishers
Piper McKenna is convinced of her brother’s innocence in the murder of a fellow extreme sports competitor.  Now all she has to do is find the proof.  Piper is dogged in her pursuit to free her brother Reef.  He is being held in prison while awaiting trial for murder.  There were witnesses who placed him at the scene of the murder, saw him holding the murder weapon and having blood-stained clothes.  Piper knows she is going to have to give this investigation everything she has to dig up the truth.  Thankfully, she can depend on her other brothers and sister to help her as well as long-time family friend Deputy Landon Grainger.  As Piper spends more time with Landon, she discovers her feelings for him have changed from brotherly love to romantic love.
Landon knows Piper will stop at nothing in her search for truth, including keeping herself safe.  What she uncovers at great risk to herself leads to doubts raised as to Reef’s guilt.  Landon and Piper begin traveling to various sites to find out what kind of person the murder victim was and what other people thought of her.  What they discover is intriguing and leads them on a chase against the clock as Reef’s trial looms ever closer.  What they don’t know is why someone is attempting to keep them from discovering the truth with attempts on their lives.  Landon’s feelings for Piper changed in the summer when she was shot, but he couldn’t stand it if she rejected him so he has kept quiet about what he feels.  When he sees her with another man, the ache and hopelessness drive him into hold habits.  He hasn’t prayed or been close to God in a long time and knows Piper has a strong relationship with God which is another mark against him.  As the threats increase, Landon realizes he has to tell Piper how he really feels about her.  He wants her in his life forever as his wife, but can he tell her the truth about his past?  Will he realize he can’t protect her on his own and turn over his worries to the One who can?
This story had lots of action, romance and laid a nice foundation for the third book in the series, Stranded, Gage and Darcy’s story.  I again admired the strong faith of Piper in one so young as well as her dedication to her family and belief in Reef no matter what.  I also thought it hilarious how each McKenna member got their middle names.  The good-natured teasing between this family and their friends were just feel-good moments.  I can hardly wait to read book three and will review here soon!
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…