Skip to main content

Silenced (Alaska Courage #4)

Title:  Silenced (Alaskan Courage #4)
Author:  Dani Pettrey
Pages:  327
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Bethany House Publishers
Book #4 in this series doesn’t disappoint!  The story this time centers on Kayden McKenna and Jake Westin.  It is again set in Alaska, but unlike book #3 that was set mostly at sea, this was is back on land.  We also see a lot more of the fifth McKenna sibling, Reef, in this book.
While Kayden is out rock climbing she discovers a body.  It is quickly discovered that the climber was murdered and didn’t die due to an accidental fall while climbing.  With the abrupt resignation of the sheriff, Landon Grainger is promoted from deputy to temporary acting sheriff.  Since he is overloaded with work he asks Jake to temporarily be deputized and work the murder case.  Kayden is also asked for her climbing expertise to help Jake investigate.  Both Jake and Kayden are secretly thrilled they will be working together as they both have realized their strong attachment to the other.  They won’t tell each other how they feel because they can’t see a future together.  As they investigate, their attraction and love only increase with the time spent in each other’s company.
Jake discovers he really enjoys being back on the force.  He tells himself it is only temporary as God didn’t make him to be a cop because of his failure on his last case three years ago in Boston.  That failure caused him to resign his job as detective and move to Alaska to start over.  That case also cost him a lot more than his job.  He knows he shouldn’t open his heart again to future hurt, but someone Kayden has snatched his heart without him being aware of it.  He will do anything to keep her safe, which skills will come to the forefront as they encounter someone from his past who will stop at nothing to hurt Jake by hurting Kayden.  Kayden must also admit to herself how she has cut herself off emotionally from her family and friends when her mother died.  She is terrified of inheriting her mother’s rheumatoid arthritis and as a result is a health and exercise fanatic almost to the point of obsession because she needs to feel like she can control something about her life.  Can she surrender this control to the One who is always in control?  The One who always knows what is best for His children?
I have spent a lot of time with the McKenna family over the past week as I’ve read all four books over that time period.  They have come to be like my own brothers and sisters.  What a wonderful job their parents did, raising such strong Christian children.  While strong Christians, they aren’t perfect.  I can identify with their foibles and struggles, which makes them so easy to relate to.  There is also a lot of action and suspense to enjoy as well.  I can’t wait to read Reef’s story!
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…