A Moment in Time

Title:  A Moment in Time (Lone Star Brides #2)
Author:  Tracie Peterson
Pages:  320
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Bethany
The first novel in the series is titled, A Sensible Arrangement, where we meet Marty who has left Texas in the hopes of a fresh start.  We also meet Jacob who is a Texan and rancher at heart, but having no ranch inheritance so he went to Denver to work in banking.  This sequel continues the story of these two young people now married, but definitely not in agreement as to where to live when the nation’s financial trouble closes many businesses and banks across the United States.
Alice is a young lady who after her father is murdered and she heals from her wounds comes to work in the home of Jacob and Marty.  Since most of the staff had to be let go due to lack of money to pay them, Jacob knows in his heart he must soon leave Denver in search of employment.  Marty is fearful that he will take her back to Texas, which is the last place on earth she wants to be.
One of the main attractions to the tale is the idea of family coming together to help each other in time of need.  The other point in the story is how even when we think we have nothing to give there is an amazing awareness that we still can give of what we already own.  The characters are truly reflections of humans in that we desire to at times fight the Lord when we fear where He is leading.  I loved the aspect of the family coming together to help each other in succeeding in their endeavors, yet, above all, having a deep love and respect for each individual.
Texas has a rich history and varied scenery depending on where one lives or travels, which Tracie Peterson describes in the book.  The depth of the commitment of heart, faith and home is a rich component of the personalities the many characters exhibit.  Tracie Peterson has written another splendid novel that reminds us how the Lord helps heal our hurts and to move forward even when we are afraid of what lies ahead.
It was rewarding to see how everyone worked together to benefit their neighbors and the orphans that Marty came to love dearly while she lived there a short time.  Giving away the love God plants in our hearts is one theme that is constant throughout the story.  Reading about the characters looking to God and asking for help, both individually and together, was an encouragement to me.  I cannot wait for the third installment, A Matter of the Heart, set for release in October 2014.  One cannot help but finish these books and be encouraged and renewed with hope, especially if life is trying right now.
My rating is 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
 Other reviews can be read at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/ .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/lisa.johnson.75457
Post a Comment