Title:  Penny Wise (Windy City Neighbors Book #3)
Author:  Neta & Dave Jackson
Pages:  316
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Castle Rock Creative, Inc.
The Windy City Neighbors series begins with Grounded followed by Derailed, both published in 2013.  A total of six novels are planned for this series and let me tell you each one keeps getting better and more involved with the neighbors on Beecham Street.  When I began the series, it was because I am originally from the Chicago suburbs and loved growing up in that area.  The people living on that street are a variety of ethnicities, backgrounds, careers, and more.  It makes the interactions quite interesting as what once began as neighbors just passing each other with minimal contact is now growing into deeper relationships.
The spiritual beliefs of some of the neighbors are Christian.  There is a Jewish family and others that the authors haven’t shared with the audience yet.  As readers progress through the novels, more of the character’s home life and past are revealed.  I enjoy the way real life and issues are dealt with by the authors.  It is a wonder if there is anywhere these types of relationship are actually real.
None of the characters are perfect which makes their thoughts, actions or reactions more believable.  It is easy to picture in my mind how various parts of the novel might play out in the real world or on a movie screen.  People who are Christians are shown as people that battle with their thoughts or hearts or how they relate to others in a church setting.
One other notable quality is the lack of marital relations being explained on the pages, but spoken of briefly as a God given gift in marriage.  For those in these books who have failed to wait, the message is one of hope through forgiveness found in Jesus.  Families learn to grow together, making time to be together when so many other opportunities tend to pull at the neighbors’ attention or time.  I recommend reading the books in order as each book shares more about various characters met in the first book, Grounded.  Readers will come away with encouraged hearts and perhaps a challenge to look at people as God sees them.  There is no one who is not in need of prayer support, friendship, love or compassion either within this series or in the real world.
My rating is 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

A.D. 33