Skip to main content

Creston Mapes new novel: Sky Zone

Title:  Sky Zone (Crittendon Files #3)
Author:  Creston Mapes
Pages:  444
Year:  2014
Publisher:  David C. Cook
Jack Crittendon is in a bind.  He is working part-time on the security force at the local athletic arena.  He desperately needs a full-time job as his wife is 8 months pregnant with their third child.  She has had to go back to work full-time to support them after his job as a reporter at a local newspaper ended when the newspaper folded.  He has made friends with one of the security crew, Brian Shakespeare, who is a former Marine and now is obsessed with preparing for an imminent terrorist attack.  He tries to get Jack interested in this, but Jack is hesitant to respond favorably.  They are both working one night as the arena is hosting a presidential hopeful candidate’s speech as well as a Christian music star.
While getting the schedule for the evening’s events from his boss, the crew is alerted to a possible security breach.  This occurs shortly before the event is scheduled to open to the public and both the senator and musician want the event to go forth.  After that, the story takes off like a shot and keeps the thrills notched up until the end.
There are stories within stories that keep this story going nonstop from beginning to end.  I couldn’t put the book down!  This is the best book that I have read by Mr. Mapes to date.  There is enough suspense, action, plot twists, and energy to satisfy the most ardent adrenaline aficionado!  I have read all the Crittendon Files to date and I enjoyed revisiting Jack and Pam and their family as well as being introduced to a great new character in Brian Shakespeare.  I hope he shows up in other of the Crittendon Files.  I am waiting eagerly for the next book in the series and hope I don’t have to wait too long!  Great job Creston!
My rating is 5 stars.

Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…