Skip to main content

All Things New

Title:  All Things New
Author:  Lynn Austin
Pages:  413
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Bethany House
Josephine Weatherly has lost a lot to the Yankees.  Her father and brother were killed during the Civil War.  The Yankees invaded her home, forcing her and her mother and sister to flee to nearby relatives.  She lost her way of life.  Now the war is over.  Her mother, sister and her return home to find all their slaves gone with the exception of two and hardly anything remained in her home.  Her other brother survived the war physically, but is in deep depression when he returns home and unable to run the plantation.  Her mother longs for life to return to the way it was before the war and will do whatever she thinks she needs to do to accomplish this goal.  Josephine is tired of hearing the complaints about how life used to be and longs for everyone to stop fighting and accept the change and move on with their lives.  She has realized that the South’s views on slavery are wrong.  She comes to rely on the two remaining slaves, now servants after the war, and enjoys their company.  Her mother is scandalized.
As part of the restoration process for the South, a representative from the government, Alexander Chandler, has been sent to help the former slaves as well as southerners adjust to a new way of life.  He is a God-fearing man and regrets his part in the war, believing now that God wants to use him to help his former enemies.  He visits plantations to offer ways to get crops planted, animals procured and whatever else he can do to help people get back on their feet.  He faces fierce opposition, but he meets Jo and finds a friend.  Their friendship blossoms into more, but Jo knows her family will not approve and will view her as a traitor for befriending a Yankee.  She faces problem after problem in her home life, but is determined to persevere.  She seeks Alexander’s guidance in spiritual matters, but tries to keep their friendship a secret.  However, her secret gets out and lives are at risk.  What happens then?
This is a wonderful story of restoration on many levels.  There is the restoration of the South to the union after the end of the Civil War, the restoration of family separated by the war, and most importantly the restoration of faith and relationship with God.  There is also presented the truth that one cannot live in the past or return life to the way it was before a conflict or the only result will be bitterness.  We should always remember the past, but we cannot live in it.  Change is an inevitable part of life on earth.  There are some great examples of faith lived out in dire circumstances in this story.  There is much more to this story, and I hope this author writes more stories in this vein.  Kudos!!
My rating is 5 stars.

Note:  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…