Skip to main content

A Matter of the Heart (Lone Star Brides #3)

Title:  A Matter of the Heart (Lone Star Brides #3)
Author:  Tracie Peterson
Pages:  320
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Bethany
Tracie Peterson’s final installment in this series is simply heart touching along adventure, romance and faith.  The main characters in A Matter of the Heart are introduced to readers in the previous books A Sensible Arrangement and A Moment in Time.  Each book focuses on a budding relationship rich and diverse along with an overarching storyline that also brings the flavor of a mystery.  One of the reasons I love to read this author in particular is to learn how the title will be woven into the story.  Each time I open the books I am entertained and encouraged as I read of characters facing odds and overcoming them in faith.
Each book will hold you captive until the very end as pieces of a puzzle are being put together not just in the highlight of the characters’ lives, but the Texas community where the story is set.  Readers will travel to other parts of the country when in the final story Austin Todd is attempting to help friends unravel the sudden reappearance of an old nemesis.  Jessica is a woman who comes to a crossroad in her life, seeing who she is and wanting to become someone different.  I thought this character in particular interesting as many women want to change something in themselves.  Jessica’s actions show us that the transformation is done by the Lord.  As I read, Jessica seemed to reflect a reality that there are those who don’t want to be shallow or easily distracted from what is of true importance, which is the Lord.
It amazes me how Tracie can write so profusely with such passion along with the ability to entertain her audience and encourage faith.  I love the fact that while romance is a part of the novel it is the character’s individual walk with the Lord that is the focus.  Some of the characters’ pasts affected their time reading the Bible or praying in a negative way and then one of the minor players would encourage them to turn back to the Lord as it should be in reality.
For the best possible enjoyment I think readers should read all three books in order, though reading any one of them would be an enjoyable way to spend time.  So grab a cup of coffee or tea, sit back and get lost in the Lone Star Bride Series!
My rating is 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…