Skip to main content


Title:  Avenged (Pacific Coast Justice Series #3)
Author:  Janice Cantore
Story Length:  378
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Tyndale
This is another great, action-packed police suspense novel from Janice Cantore’s Pacific Coast Justice Series!  I would recommend that before reading this book, which is the third in the series, that book one, Accused and book two, Abducted be read first.  There are continuing storylines and characters that appear in all three books.  So to understand certain references, readers should read the books in order.  This story is set again in the fictional city of Las Playas, California.
Carly Edwards is back on beat patrol, but loses her partner, Joe, when he is injured.  She begins to wonder if she still wants to be a beat cop or if she should take her career in a different direction.  She is offered a job with a federal task force that would require lots of travel.  The job sounds exciting to Carly, but it would take her away from her husband quite a lot.  They already work odd hours as he is a policeman too and don’t see as much of each other as she would like.  She also worries about his new job in the gang district and him getting hurt or worse.  Two rival gangs are being manipulated to start a gang war, but who is pulling the strings?  What advantage would a gang war be to this puppet master?   A criminal from the past is looking as if he will get off without a murder conviction, spending a lot less time in jail due to a smear campaign in the press against Carly.  There is much more going on in the story, but too little space to write!
I just loved seeing the spiritual growth of Carly throughout these three books.  She goes from someone who isn’t even sure she believes in good, making fun of Christians to someone who prays with other people and leans on the Lord in good times and bad.  I thought that the way the author wove the faith of different characters into the story was realistic and not preachy.  I hope to read more of this author’s previous books and any books she might write in the future.  Kudos on a great trilogy!!
My rating is 5 stars.

Note:  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…