Skip to main content

Petticoat Detective by Margaret Brownley

Title:  Petticoat Detective (Undercover Ladies #1)
Author:  Margaret Brownley
Pages:  318
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Shiloh Run Press
Jennifer Layne is a Pinkerton Detective who has been assigned a case that involves her working undercover in a brothel.  Jennifer is a young, pretty, Christian lady so this assignment is especially difficult as she is required to keep her personal beliefs to herself or she will blow her cover.  She is on the trail of a bandit who has robbed several banks and in his last robbery killed a guard.  Some of the money from the most recent bank job was found on the body of Dave Colton.  Also one of the girls in the brothel deposited a large sum in her account with some of the marked money from the bank robbery.  Tom Colton, Dave’s brother, has come to town to clear his brother’s name and find his murderer.  Dave had indicated he was going to marry Rose, one of the working girls at the local brothel, but before Tom can find the girl she is killed.  Tom meets Jennifer at the brothel, hires her to spy for him and they work together to try to solve the case and bring a criminal to justice.
While there isn’t much tension or action in the story, there are some good life lessons put forth.  One of those lessons is to not judge people by their appearance.  The author did a very good job of depicting the life of a shunned person, the humiliation felt, the despair and hopelessness experienced, and the most violent offenders or perpetrators of inducing these feelings in the story were supposed Christians!  There were a few Christians in the story who realized their actions were not hand-in-hand with their words and began to draw alongside what most in the community might think of as “undesirables”.  There were a couple of humorous scenes as well.  The story just didn’t have enough strength to grab my attention and keep me fully engaged.  There is another book in the series due to be released this summer, and I plan on reading that book in hopes of more action.
My rating is 3 stars.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…