Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Irene Hannon's Latest Suspense filled novel: Buried Secrets

Title:  Buried Secrets (Men of Valor #1)
Author:  Irene Hannon
Pages:  378
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Revell
Mac McGregor is an ex-SEAL, who has been in St. Louis for a short time as a detective with the county.  He opted to leave the SEAL team in order to get a more stable job, settle down with a Christian woman and start a family.  He has two younger brothers who are also in the armed forces and exercises his worry gene regarding their safety quite frequently.  An unexpected reunion with his brothers leads to a surprise revelation.  Mac has been assigned to assist on a case with the local city law enforcement and meets the chief, Lisa Grant.  He is bowled over by her looks, dedication to her job and faith.  With the case of the old bones requiring some digging into the past, Mac is able to help Lisa discover who the bones belong to and that the person was in fact murdered.
Lisa Grant has been chief of police for about two years after transferring from Chicago.  She realized that her job had become her life and decided to dial things down some by taking a job in a smaller community, hoping she would have time to socialize and meet a Christian guy, fall in love, marry and start a family.  However, the reality is that she still works too many hours and has not had much time to socialize.  The detective county has assigned to help her with the case of the old bones found at the construction site is quite handsome, intelligent and a Christian.  As the two spend more time together, they know that they are meant to be together for a long time.  However, the killer they are trying to bring to justice might have another plan for their future, one not quite so pleasant.
Irene Hannon has started off this new series well.  I enjoy the crime solving dramas with suspense and some romance thrown in.  While this novel had good suspense and plot, I would have liked a little less focus on the two main characters’ attraction to one another.  I did like that Lisa and Mac were both Christians and put God first in their lives; they lived their faith with actions not just words.  I’m looking forward to the next book in the series due in the spring of 2016, featuring Mac’s brother Lance as one of the main characters.  With a new job as an FBI agent, this should be an exciting story!
My rating is 4 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

No comments: