Skip to main content

Wounds of God (Hawk & Dove Series #2) by Penelope Wilcock

Title:  The Wounds of God (The Hawk and the Dove #2)
Author:  Penelope Wilcock
Pages:  187
Year:  1991
Publisher:  Lion Fiction
The second book in The Hawk and the Dove series also has the daughter, Melissa, asking her mother to tell her stories that have been handed down from generation to generation by the females in her family.  These stories center on a monastery in the early 1300s, featuring Abbot or Father Peregrine and the brothers who served with him in the monastery.  Young Melissa, who is now sixteen years old, is gaining much advice, knowledge and insight into how to live for God through these stories.
In this series of tales, we learn more about Father Peregrine and his ability or lack thereof to handle his disability and the reliance it causes him to have on others for help.  We see others reactions to his disability and a protective bond that has formed between Peregrine and his fellow brothers at the monastery.  The love Peregrine feels for his brothers he expresses in ways of humility, discipline, and putting them in a situation where they are forced to come to terms with their fear in order to allow them to completely surrender to God.
Just as in book one in the series, this second book is filled with spiritual examples with practical applications to put to use in situations and relationships.  Again, I couldn’t put the book down as I was, just like Melissa in the book, so drawn to see what Father Peregrine and his fellow brothers in the monastery were up to next.  I seemed to be always begging for another story just like her.  My heart was tugged at some of the ways Father Peregrine showed certain brothers the love of Christ by putting himself in a difficult or humiliating situations.  Readers will see Father Peregrine struggle with his pride, but remember Jesus’ sacrifice and wounds on the cross and then surrender himself to God.  I am so grateful to have come across this series that has so much to teach readers about how to live life with a God focus.
My rating is 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…