Skip to main content

Home to Chicory Lane (Chicory Inn Series #1)

 Title:  Home to Chicory Lane (Chicory Inn Series #1)
Author:  Deborah Raney
Pages:  272
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Abingdon
My rating is 5 stars out of 5.

The sequel to the novel named above was published, so to remind myself of the story I reread this first book in the series.  Most of it I remembered though there of course were parts I didn’t recall.  The tale centers around a couple who are now empty nesters with their youngest daughter recently married who is on her way home in reaction to a spat wither husband.  The parents took their empty home and remodeled it so it could become an inn, which was a lifelong dream of Audrey.  Audrey's husband Grant was able to complete most of the work and supported this change.
All the adult children were told that they were still always welcome anytime as family was the major focus for the Whitman’s.  When opening day comes for the inn, so too do the children with their spouses.  They have come to assist, encourage and support in any way required to help fulfill their parents' dream.  The only down side to the day was remembering the one son killed in action who couldn’t be a part of the celebration this day or for anything ever again.

In the novel, it is quite clear that choosing to open an inn was the easiest part as what lay ahead would bring both good experiences and not so bright ones.  As I was reading, I fell in love with the story, family and faith woven in each page.  In some ways, I thought I was reading instances written in a newspaper but alas it was all fictional.
Another aspect of the series I believe is a strong one is how the family works, prays, laughs, and cries, basically staying together through thick and thin.  The parents don’t have all the answers and the adult children aren’t perfect at all; they all resemble real human beings.  The story continues in the sequel, Two Roads Home, which I will review here as well with a promise of a third one to be released at some point down the road.

All I can really say is that these stories are lifelike, encouraging, filled with hope and enjoyable to get lost in for a couple of hours.  So grab a copy, enjoy it and then be prepared to read the sequel that continue to share the Whitman’s fictional experiences of running an inn, being a family and walking through life.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…