Skip to main content

Old Fashioned Novel

Title:  Old Fashioned Novelization
Author:  Rene Gutteridge  & Rik Swartzwelder
Pages:  320
Year:  2014
Publisher:  Tyndale
My rating is 5 stars
The book was excellent!  It certainly opened my eyes on how a relationship with a woman should be by respecting her physically and emotionally, that it’s more than just the sex (as a lot of people nowadays think).  It’s about sharing love, not just a husband and wife love, but the kind of love God has for us all.  They start as two different people getting to know each other and their likes and dislikes, whether or not they believe in God.  If things work out, they marry and become one instead of two.
A former playboy named Clay Walsh meets a free-spirited woman named Amber.  They become attracted to one another, but it’s not easy.  Clay seems to be wrapped up in his own little world of trying to do the right thing and is suffering from the guilt of his previous lifestyle.  He now runs an antique shop and repairs furniture; he only has a few friends left who don’t understand him or understand his newfound faith in God.  Then Amber comes along with only a car, stuffed with all her belongings (including her cat Mr. Joe).  They become attracted to one another, but Clay wants to play it safe while Amber wants his attention, believing she has found the man of her dreams.  She rents the apartment above Clay’s shop and starts breaking the appliances like the refrigerator and stove to get him to come see her.  Clay finally relents and asks her out, but it’s hard for them to enjoy each other’s company because it seems neither can let go of their past and move on.  It’s not until after they seek God with their hearts that they admit how deeply they are in love with each other and how it was divine intervention that brought them together.  The story ends when Clay proposes to Amber and she accepts, beginning a new life together in a God-honoring way.
Many lessons can be drawn from this book such as love is not to build walls around ourselves, but to let people in.  If we worry about sinning and causing destruction in our relationships, then all we have to do is ask God for guidance and remember that we believe and follow His ways and not those of the world.  If things don’t work, then we should take heart and always remember that God has a plan for all of us.  If we remember that, then we can realize that maybe God has someone special in store for us.  If not, then we should know that maybe God is calling some of us to be single and fulfill the great plan that He has for us. Another lesson can be that men are called upon to be leaders and that their relationships with women should involve a lot more than physical needs and should include spiritual needs.  Clay was a playboy until God rescued him from his sinful life.  He struggled in his relationship with Amber, but remained steadfast in his newfound belief; this helps Amber to find God.
We may not always get what we want in this world, but we must always hope in the Lord for he will never forsake us and always has a plan for us. God has created men to be the spiritual leaders of the family.  It is up to them to lead their wives and children in their walk with God, because women are created to be weaker than men and children are innocent until they grow up.  As long as we pray and ask for God’s guidance then everything will work out alright in His time. Even as we stumble and fall, God will not abandon us nor forsake us. For love is patient, kind, hopeful, and old fashioned.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…