Skip to main content

Pool of Echoes

Title: Pool of Echoes
Author: David G. Allen
Pages: 174
Year: 2015
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating is 4 stars.

Jordan Mitchfield hears voices. He is home at Mitchfield Manor when two policemen arrive, pounding on his bedroom door. He makes a run for it out the window trying to escape, but gets caught and taken to a mental asylum. He knows who put the police up to capturing him; it is his older brother Nathan. Nathan and Jordan are sons of a billionaire media mogul who is dying from cancer. Nathan wants control of his father’s media empire and needs Jordan out of the way to obtain a controlling share of the company. Jordan knows no one in his family cares about him, but his father who is too ill to help him.

While in the asylum, Jordan still hears voices and believes he should be where he is, but not permanently. He knows he needs help, but can he find it with Dr. Seltzer? One night the door to his room is opened and another doctor comes to take him for therapy. He winds up in a pool of water that somehow helps him regress, with the doctor’s help, to visit his past. He visits various time periods from his past where he encounters himself at the particular age he was at the time the memory was made.
This regression was complicated and hard to follow exactly how this happened, but the story was filled with action and lots of tension which made it very interesting to read. There were a few swear words in the story for those readers who might be offended. There were only a couple of references to God, so if readers are looking for that particular element in a story, it is not very evident in this one. The characters were realistic and easy to relate to, making me eager to see who the story ended. It was short and very easy to read, and I quickly got involved in the tale.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Other reviews can be read at Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at  or

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…