Skip to main content

Taken by Dee Henderson

Title:  Taken
Author:  Dee Henderson
Pages:  432
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Bethany
My rating is 5 stars out of 5!
Dee Henderson’s newest novel caught my attention some time back and I recently bought it.  Being as busy as I am reading and writing reviews, it is a rare moment for me to pick something for myself not related to a commitment of one sort or another.  I read other reviews sometimes and a lot of folks like her O’Malley series; others didn’t care for her writings after that series.  I think it depends upon more factors than I am aware of it or can state.  Regardless, I was in the mood for a mystery that intrigued, entertained, along with the plot of a woman showing up 11 years after her abduction.  Taken is such a novel!  Dee Henderson captivates readers with a story where a woman is waiting outside in the hallway for a particular man who spoke at a conference in Chicago.  Matthew was chosen specifically by Shannon because he knew what road to recovery Shannon would be traveling, considering his daughter Becky went through a similar experience years earlier.  There is more attention paid to the people Shannon would need in her life until she felt able to share her story.
During the time Shannon spends with Matthew, a budding friendship begins although a blossoming romance isn’t out of the question for Matthew or Shannon.  Matthew is the go between Shannon her friends, family and various law enforcement agencies.  Taken is unlike other similar novels in that there is not violence taking place or action.  The main focus is on what Shannon reveals, capturing the offenders and aiding Shannon into her future with as few bumps as possible now that she has regained her freedom to choose.
What I found amazing is how Shannon’s faith is what sustained her during those years of uncertainty and danger.  I loved her ability to never give up hope of gaining freedom and the way she acted to help others to escape the syndicate.  Shannon’s character is very intelligent, meticulous in observation and knowing what she does or doesn’t wish to rehash verbally with anyone.  The fact that Shannon kept journals throughout her captivity is a twist I hadn’t read before in other novels dealing with the subject matter of abduction.
If you like novels with the focal point being interpersonal relationships, this one is a great find!  If you like books with a ton of action, danger or adventure, you might or might not be disappointed.  I was captivated by how the respective law agencies worked together with Shannon playing her revelations close to her vest and the choices made by characters as various other situations came into play.  I would have enjoyed more danger lurking in the shadows or action, but I thoroughly enjoyed the book without it too.  The ending as well as some other threads in the book that weren’t resolved makes me wonder if a sequel will come or another story with these characters.  I did learn a character in this book along with her history was introduced in Unspoken by Dee Henderson released in 2013.  I haven’t read it yet so it doesn’t have to be read before reading Taken unless a reader so choose.  I really enjoyed the way the plot unfolded, the characters and the element of faith.  I hope you enjoy reading this during your summer break!
Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…