Skip to main content

The Midwife’s Tale (At Home in Trinity Book #1)

Title:  The Midwife’s Tale (At Home in Trinity Book #1)
Author:  Delia Parr
Pages:  336
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Bethany
My rating is 4 stars
The main character is woman named Martha Cade a midwife practicing in the town called Trinity.   Martha lives in a room attached to the tavern her brother owns and operated with his family which allows her to answer calls for help at all hours, while her brother watches her daughter Victoria.  Then one night she gets note that her daughter has run away, even though she is an adult Martha cannot help but feel shame and confusion in response to these turn of events.
The tension is very palpable in the small town for reasons like gossip which spreads like a fire, or those who call a physician when babies are coming sometimes whose actions are harmful.  Some of the tension is from the view of Doctors doing more harm than good while Midwifery is looked upon as ancient practices at best.  The way Martha is embroiled in the towns gossip mill, looked upon with distain by women whom she has befriended more so when she stands up for a man who is supposed to be a man of the faith.  As personal property is being stolen the town looks at the Reverend and his orphaned boys with suspicion without proof hardly anyone wants the boys to come into town.
The author does a splendid job of creating characters that are very life like with their actions that tells readers more about who they really are whether others are watching or listening to the gossip mill.  I loved learning about the practice of midwifery and using herbs to help with healing.  The story paints scene in the audiences mind with what appears to be such ease.  Faith is a thread woven throughout the tale from beginning to end as we read about characters internal thought or how the community of believers treats others.
I look forward to the next installment to come in the At Home in Trinity series and the various fictional inhabitants we are first introduced to in The Midwife’s Tale.  Hope you enjoy as much as I did the novel that shares history, faith, and romance in a wonderful mix that captures the heart of anyone who dares to travel to Trinity in their imagination!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…