Skip to main content

Irish Meadows (Courage to Dream #1)

Title:  Irish Meadows (Courage to Dream #1)
Author:  Susan Anne Mason
Pages:  384
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Bethany
My rating is 5+ stars out of 5.
Maybe the tale drew me into the pages as the central figures are an Irish family or maybe because it was set in the year 1911, thus a historical setting.  Either way Susan Anne Mason has crafted a novel that draws on the hearts of the readers keeping them turning pages until the story ends, at least until the sequel coming in 2016!
Irish Meadows is the family estate where horses are bred, trained, cared for and rode to prepare them to be horses ready for racing.  The family living on Irish Meadows is the O’Leary family who work hard, love much, face trials with determination and occasionally get into spats.  The Irish during this time period and before were not looked upon with anything but hatred, and people were unwilling to hire them to work.  When, in the book, the state of New York bans racing, the demise of Irish Meadows appears on the horizon.
The patriarch of the family, James, rules with an iron hand and temporarily loses sight of what is truly important in life and his faith.  His wife Kathleen is a compassionate woman who longs to see her family’s souls fed and no more secrets kept.  On top of that, one son has left Irish Meadows and two sisters are at times at odds with each other along with having budding romances.  Once readers start this book, the heart will be drawn into the characters quite easily.
I cannot wait to see what the author’s sequel, which will share Adam’s story, will be like.  I am sure it will be as captivating and enticing as this book!  I could relate to the Irish temper as well as the desire to be a better person seeking God’s help.  Like the love interests of the two sisters their suitors can either bring the best out of them or set their tempers to flare.  At times I would smile with the picture that would form in my mind of how the scene would look if it were to be real.  Other times I anticipated eagerly learning how the characters lives and trials would finally be resolved.
Don’t miss this exceptional novel and look with me in 2016 for the sequel to be published!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…