Skip to main content

On Shifting Sands

Title: On Shifting Sand
Author:  Allison Pittman
Pages:  416
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Tyndale
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.
The story is told from the main female character named Nola who lives in Oklahoma with her husband Russ and two young children.   As I began reading I remembered a movie I watched which depicted quite realistically the Dust Bowl conditions of the land many years ago.  The Dust Bowl is used as a setting by the author to depict both a physical as well as spiritual realities of what life is like without care, watering, proper stewardship and more.  Nola is struggling as a ministers wife feeling like she is always second to the needs of those in the church.  After each storm the people of the small town would gather at the church to pray as well as count heads to see if any people were missing.
As time goes on not only does the town population diminish but so does the heart of Nola.  When she is at her lowest point she rationalizes her choice to commit a sin which leads her despair all the while it seems her husband never notices.  The hurt feelings Nola experiences and loneliness for time with Russ her husband brings to drive a wedge into her marriage and makes her blind to the rationalization she uses when she chooses not to flee from temptation.
Later in the story it was really awesome in the way the author uses descriptions to help readers visualize the depth of need for God in our hearts.  There is hope in the novel by the ending and depicts that while marriage is not all roses there is always a choice to draw near to God during the times of thorns, or hardship.  Forgiveness can be easily spoken even requested but when Nola really sees with new eyes the depth of her sin, she finally faces the hard task of bearing it all to her husband.
Unlike other novels the authors doesn’t rap the tale up in a pretty bow, but leaves the ending open for reasons which she shares in the author’s notes section.   Any person who has been married for a time knows that times of drought come and they are no picnic, nor are they pain free.   Yet, there is always a choice before both the husband and the wife to completely honest with the Lord and each other.  In the novel we see Nola had to honest about her reoccurring affair and her choice to participate in the sin.  Russ has a part of his soul that needs forgiveness and healing too but I will let you discover that as you read this very captivating book.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book from  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility. 

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…