Skip to main content

The Final Reville by Amanda Flowers

Title:  The Final Reveille (A Living History Museum Mystery #1)
Author:  Amanda Flower
Pages:  336
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Midnight Ink
My rating is 5+ stars out of 5.
The Civil War is a time in our history that has been the setting of many tales shared though various mediums.  Amanda Flower weaves a mystery during a weekend filled with various activities from this time period along with those who reenact the battles.  During the weekend of this event on Barton Farms, a murder or two has been committed.  Now, the living history is in danger of possibly losing its benefactor and the director has become a suspect and a victim!  Plus, the director is a single mom with a 5-year-old son who unexpectedly meets her ex’s fiancée.  The chief of police is an intriguing character to me and at times I even thought he was a part of the problem and not doing his job.
Living history museums really aid the visitor in the feel of living in the timeframe and not in the present.  My husband and sons take great pleasure and have fun being in a group that is globally known as the S.C.A. with each one having a persona from an historical time period.  People can appreciate how many articles we take for granted that were made or used during the Civil War or before.  Amanda Flower did a superb job of drawing me into the activity and characters of her book, and I believe many would enjoy reading and sharing a copy with friends.
The sequel is due in 2016 so be ready for more action, adventure and a mystery or romance to boot!  Check out Amanda Flower’s other well written mysteries that know no bounds and keep you entertained all the way till the very last page.  Look for her books and then curl up for a few hours of fun that you’ll never regret it!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…