Friday, December 4, 2015

Midnight on the Mississippi (Secrets of the South #1)

Title:  Midnight on the Mississippi (Secrets of the South #1)
Author:  Mary Ellis
Pages:  e-book
Year:  2015
Nicki Price and Hunter Galen couldn’t be from two more different backgrounds.  She is from very rural Mississippi and he is from New Orleans.  His family is very wealthy while hers is poor.  When they first meet, Nicki is trying to land her first big case as a newly minted private investigator with Hunter as her first client.  Actually, her cousin owns the detective agency and she pleads with him to let her be his assistant.  Her cousin Nate has worked for Hunter for several years and when Hunter is a suspect in a murder, Nate is on the job.  However, someone gets Nate arrested so he is off the job, leaving Nicki in the driver’s seat.  Nicki is also investigating on her own time the death of her father seventeen years ago.  She knows he wasn’t all that good of a father, but he was the only one she had so she wants to know what happened on that night long ago.
As Nicki now leads her first paying case, she follows the money to try to discover who might want to kill Hunter’s business partner and friend.  Hunter is the number one suspect, but Nicki knows Hunter is innocent.  Hunter researches his partner’s financial records and business dealings, finding out things about his friend he never thought possible.  Hunter also is coerced into an engagement with his girlfriend that he is not quite ready for, but doesn’t want her to be embarrassed so he agrees.  However, something doesn’t sit right with him.  He has spent a lot of time with Nicki and wants to spend more time with her.  He doesn’t care whether she is rich or poor.  His current fiancée is very focused on money and her style of living in society.  Is she really the right woman for him?
The story has a good plot and enough action to keep readers interested from beginning to end.  I really liked the character of Nicki.  She says what she is thinking without sugarcoating things.  She is honest, a hard worker, goes the extra mile and is God-fearing.  Nicki also has a great sense of humor and has no illusions about where she is from and who she is.  Her trust lies with the Lord.  I’m looking forward to the next book in the series.  This is a book that is easy to read and one that will entertain.
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 

No comments: