Skip to main content

Winchester 1886 by William W. & J. A. Johnstone

Title:  Winchester 1886
Author:  William W. Johnstone & J. A. Johnstone
Pages:  384
Year:  2015
Publisher:  Pinnacle
My rating is 5 stars.
The Old West brings to mind a raw, unbroken and lawless time in history.  What draws readers of all ages to books that capture the imagination and heart of audiences?  For me, it is the stories that bring to life both fictional and historical characters along with the lawless and the lawful.  It also is a timeframe to get lost in where daily living was treacherous and it took hard work to eke out a living with families under threat from various people or diseases.
Most of all I love westerns that are well written and tell stories without describing gruesome details, leaving that to the imagination of readers.  In this novel, I have to say the Johnstones outdid themselves!  Here is tale that has a variety of storylines such as a family of lawmen who passed down their convictions from generation to generation.  The plot also has readers following this special rifle to see if it arrives to its final destination safely or if it is stolen and used for nefarious reasons.
Authors that write with such knowledge along with a great imagination are authors to go back to again and again as they bring more wonderful tales to enjoy.  The Johnstones excel at this and have for years.  I hope you will read their wonderful books too.  My next book to enjoy will be Winchester 1887.  Look up the authors’ website and consider joining their book club so you can receive their newest books every month for a whole year!  Plus, they provide a book list so readers can locate books in the multiple series that are available!  Join me in the old west and get ready for action, adventure and suspense!
So mount up, gear up and let’s ride!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  The above is my opinion.  I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…